Serving Skagit, Island, San Juan, and Snohomish Counties
Mon-Fri 8am-5pm


Christine Nidd Named to Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award Board of Examiners for 2021

Posted on August 17th, 2021

August 17, 2021


Contact: Rachael Woods, Marketing and Communications Manager, 360-391-1137

Christine Nidd Named to Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award Board of Examiners for 2021

The U.S. Department of Commerce’s National Institute of Standards and Technology (NIST) has named Quality and Compliance Manager for Hospice of the Northwest, Christine Nidd, CPHQ, PMP, MSW, to the Board of Examiners for the 2021 Malcolm Baldrige National Quality Award. The Baldrige Award is the nation’s highest honor for organizational innovation and performance excellence.

Christine Nidd

Appointed by the NIST Director, examiners are responsible for reviewing and evaluating applications submitted for the Baldrige Award, as well as other assessment-related tasks. The examiner board is composed of leading experts competitively selected from industry, professional, trade, education, health care, and nonprofit (including government) organizations from across the United States.

Those selected meet the highest standards of qualification and peer recognition, demonstrating competencies related to customer focus, communication, ethics, action orientation, team building, and analytical skills. All members of the board must take part in a nationally ranked leadership development course based on the Baldrige Excellence Framework and the scoring/evaluation processes for the Baldrige Award. They must also complete an independent review of a Baldrige Award application or another comparable examiner task.

“It is an honor to be selected as a member of the Board of Examiners,” said Nidd. “The Baldrige Award is the Gold Standard for quality. I am excited to be part of this process, recognizing and celebrating excellence.”

Named after Malcolm Baldrige, the 26th Secretary of Commerce, the Baldrige Award was established by Congress in 1987. Awards may be given annually to organizations in each of six categories: manufacturing, service, small business, education, health care, and nonprofit. The Award promotes innovation and excellence in organizational performance, recognizes the achievements and results of U.S. organizations, and publicizes successful performance strategies. Since the first group was recognized in 1988, 134 awards have been presented to 124 organizations (including eight two-time award recipients and one three-time recipient).



Hospice of the Northwest provides a complete range of services designed to ease the symptoms and challenges of late-stage illness. Working with each patient, their loved ones, and their physician, Hospice of the Northwest creates a plan of care centered on each individual’s goals, needs, beliefs, and comfort. Learn more about Hospice of the Northwest at or call 360-814-5550.

About Hospice of the Northwest

We are a skilled, caring, and compassionate team of doctors, nurses, social workers, spiritual counselors, aides, volunteers and generous community donors. Together we provide patient-centered care for people facing serious illness. We’ve been serving the residents of Island, San Juan, Skagit and Snohomish Counties since 1989 and want to know how we can support you or your loved one.

We Honor Veterans
CHAP Provider
Seal of Transparency


Sign up to get interesting news and updates delivered to your inbox.

Sign Up Today!